Day Off in Florence

Today was an EPIC day!! I don’t remember if I have said this already on a past day, but today has been my favorite day yet.

First off, we had the whole day off PTL. So, I got to sleep in until about 10:00, which was so needed. Then I went down to the lobby, still in my PJs, and got breakfast. Until around 1:00 me and a few others made sure that everything for the assignments that were due today were completed. We basically went on a hunt for wifi. We got everything done and then went to the fresh market for lunch.

For lunch I picked up some cheese (I asked for goat cheese, but apparently that sounded like Brie and I got Brie. But I still like Brie so all was okay), bread, and salami, and made myself a meal. And I must say, it was delicious. After lunch we walked around some shops and got souvenirs!

Next, we went back to the hotel and got ready for our “chocolate walk.” The goal was to go to a few places throughout Florence and get some chocolate from each. Well, only the first place was open (a bunch of places were closed today), but I got the best dark chocolate gelato I have ever had from there and all the chocolate happy feelings were flowing and I didn’t mind not getting more chocolate from other places since the first was so good.

My favorite part of the day: Piazelle Michelangelo. You basically cross the river and walk up a hugemongous hill and have the most beautiful view of all of Florence. I was in absolute awe the whole time. Me and a few others sat outside on a hill for at least an hour or so and watched the sunset and it was one of those moments where I was sitting there and feeling like I was in a dream and not actually sitting in Italy and seeing what I was seeing. Then, as we were walking down the hill I saw one of my best friends from HPU my freshman year, Alexa!! It was the craziest thing ever: we knew each other was going to be in Rome at the same time and we tried to meet up but it didn’t work out, but I didn’t know the rest of her travel plans and she didn’t know the rest of mine. So how CRAZAY is it that we would be in the same place in Italy at the same time and be doing the same thing and happen to see each other. INSANE!! I am so thankful I got to see her!

We went to dinner at a place close to the bottom of the hill and then on our way back stopped and got gelato. So that means I got 2 gelato in one day!

WHAT A GREAT DAY!!

20130514-072944.jpg

Leave a Reply

