Ciao! Roma: Giorno Uno (Rome: Day 1)

I cannot believe that I am actually on a bus IN ROME, ITALY right now! We have been here for a mere hour or so and I can already tell that the memories from this trip are going to last a lifetime.

The flight- not as bad as I was expecting. After our first 1 hour flight, I was told that the next flight, to Rome, was going to be 11 HOURS. That’s right, 11 HOURS. To my pleasant surprise, it actually was only 9.5 hours. As I sat down I looked in front of me and there was a screen on each seat! Livin it up! We could choose movies, TV shows, or even watch an animation of our plane slowly cross over the ocean. I watched Perks of Being a Wallflower and slept for the first few hours, I finished an entire book- Back to the Basics of Young Life (SO GOOD, and it was the perfect thing for me to read before this trip), and ate, and slept, and ate, and that’s about it. Notice all the eating: they fed us FOUR meals! I felt like every time I woke up from a shnap (short nap) they were walking down the aisle with another meal. I was definitely okay with being fed so much, and airplane food was actually better than I was expecting– no complaints from me.

I hate the landing, it is definitely the worst part. But, we survived, despite the horrifying noise and shaking typically attributed to a ginormous airplane landing on the ground. We picked up our baggage and within 5 minutes of being in Rome I accomplished my goal of seeing someone in a Young Life shirt! She was on my flight I think, but still, righteous! I didn’t get a chance to talk to her and regretted it immediately, but I didn’t exactly want to get left behind by my group.

…..

So, now I am in my wifi hotel room (PTL FOR WIFI)!

The rest of the day in Rome was awesome! It rained, but that did not bring down my excited spirits. Before venturing out into the city we got to nap in order to help adjust to the 6 hour time difference. So I of course napped a bit, and then woke up rejuvenated and ready for a day of exploration! Basically the day consisted of walking, and eating, and taking pictures. We walked and then I ate a pizza panini thing for a snack, and then we walked and I had some gelato, and then we walked and then went to dinner. Let me tell y’all, the food here is DELISH. I am very thankful for the loose skirts I brought, because I have a feeling my pants won’t be fitting the same by the end of the trip. But you know what they say– “WHEN IN ROME!”

I am very excited to go see the Colosseum tomorrow! Arrivederci!

Here are some pics from the day:

20130506-233220.jpg

20130506-233232.jpg

20130506-233243.jpg

2 thoughts on “Ciao! Roma: Giorno Uno (Rome: Day 1)

  1. It sounds magical and I am so excited for you to have this opportunity! I’m happy that I can share it with you via this blog and can’t wait to hear all about it when you return home. I love you sweetie!

Leave a Reply

